Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees at the Max Planck Institute for Brain Research forms an important interface supporting the exchange between scientists and the general public. The trustees are important members of the German public life, representing the media, economy, politics and science. Their principal task is to advise the institute on issues of science-policy, finance and organization, and to foster good relations to other parts of society.

The current members (2010-2015) of the board are: 

  • Dr. Rolf Bernhardt (Hessian Ministry of Science and Arts, Wiesbaden)
  • Dr. Rolf E. Breuer (Deutsche Bank, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. Michael Endres (Chairman of the Boards of the Hertie Foundation, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. Traudl Herrhausen (Former member of the Hessian State Parliament, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Cichutek (President of the Paul Ehrlich Institute, Langen)
  • Prof. Dr. Werner Müller-Esterl (President of the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main)
  • Joachim Müller-Jung (Head of the Department for Nature and Science at the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Prof. Dr. Josef M. Pfeilschifter (Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. h.c. Petra Roth (Mayor of the City of Frankfurt am Main)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Schreckenbach (Former member of the Executive Board of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt)
  • Prof. Dr. Felix Semmelroth (Head of the Department of Culture and Science of the City of Frankfurt am Main)