Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees at the Max Planck Institute for Brain Research forms an important interface supporting the exchange between scientists and the general public. The trustees are important members of the German public life, representing the media, economy, politics and science. Their principal task is to advise the institute on issues of science-policy, finance and organization, and to foster good relations to other parts of society.

The current members (2016-2021) of the board are: 

  • Prof. Dr. Johannes Adolff (Lawyer/Partner, Hengeler Mueller, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Patrick Bernau (Business Journalist, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Peter Feldmann (Mayor of the City of Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. Ina Hartwig (Head of the Department of Culture and Science of the City of Frankfurt am Main)
  • Prof. Dr. Volker Lindenstruth (Chairman of the Board of the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies (FIAS), Frankfurt am Main)
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Madeja (Board Member of the Kröner-Fresenius-Stiftung, Bad Homburg)
  • Frank Mattern (Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company Inc., Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. Ulrike Mattig (Ministerial Councillor, Hessian Ministry of Science and Arts, Wiesbaden)
  • Dr. Regina Oehler (Science Editor, Hessischer Rundfunk, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. Bettina Orlopp (Executive Board Member, Commerzbank AG, Frankfurt am Main)
  • Dr. Jasper zu Putlitz (Operating Partner, Triton Partners, Frankfurt)
  • Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff (President of the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main)